My old friend, Mumbo Jumbo

October 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

Before I started documenting things here on the MADE BY SOHN journal, I had a blog called “Mumbo Jumbo.”  I’ve since switched over here, but my heart misses that ghetto thing.  Recently I revisited it.  So many memories and feelings of gratitude sprung while I reflected on this incredible part of my life, documented through silly doodles and random thoughts.

I could go on for a long time about the journey that led to Mumbo Jumbo, what started it, and what has happened since.   In all honesty, I thought Mumbo Jumbo was going to be the start of a great Zach Braff coming-of-age tale.  This thought was embarrassingly romantic to me at the time.  I’ll tell you what real romance is – falling in love with Jesus and experiencing my Father’s amazing grace.  This is truly the greatest love story of all, the gospel.

People don’t see being creative and pressing into an intimate relationship with Jesus as related– but they are.  They have melded together in such a real way in my own life and career ambitions.  I haven’t figured it all out completely by any means.  The process of working it all out and letting Him guide me has been nothing less than challenging.  Yet I still press on because the trials yield fruit, faith, and joy in abundance.

Perhaps I will share more with you one day.  But for now, I walk down memory lane.  Here are a few sketches from Mumbo Jumbo.  You may not be able to tell, but even the silliest posts on Mumbo Jumbo reveal bits n’ pieces of how God taught me to be vulnerable, receive grace in imperfection, and find truth & beauty.  God has a sense of humor and works in mysterious ways, indeed.  And for that I am grateful.  Praise be to Him, forever and ever. Amen.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My old friend, Mumbo Jumbo at Made by Sohn.

meta

