Spoken For

October 9, 2012 § 5 Comments

I had the priveledge of being a vendor at Spoken For this last September.  Spoken For was a Portland event that aimed to put a fresh spin on the typical wedding show.  

And thank goodness!  It was about time a wedding show like this happened.  I’m hoping couples will see that they don’t have to settle for cookie cutter.  There are so many people out there in the business of providing services and products that cater to specific personalities and needs.

It all began with the sweetest email from Hannah and Kelty of The Weaver House, asking me to take part.  Of course I was honored and especially encouraged by their kind words.  Before I knew it, I was designing the logo, having my work featured in their promo material, garage sale hunting for props, and once again collaborating with James Fitzgerald III on how to structure our allotted 10×10 space.  Twas a whirlwind, but in the best sense of the word.  Oh, and as per usual, these lovely images you’re looking at right now are taken by James Fitzgerald III.

Though it’s a less obvious service that I provide, styling is something I truly enjoy.  I would love to do more of it as a focus in my work.  I was pretty darn excited to have a whole space to play around with.  I must pause a moment and give gynormous thanks to Parker Fitzgerald for letting me use his possessions for styling.  It sure helps to have a friend/brother with impeccable taste.  I do not take that for granted and deeply appreciate your generosity.  Thank you, Parks Barks! You daaa besstttt.  Another big thanks to Liza Hughes for letting me borrow elements from your home!
My vision for the space was thus: The work of Jay and I came together, built a simple mini home together, and invited you into the cozy living room to sit for a while – a little nook, if you will.   Our space was luckily graced by some seriously beautiful florals by Riley Messina of Erba Floral Studio.  Her work speaks for itself.  Oh and yes, if there is an arbor, pictures will be taken under it.  It’s science.
Take a looksies at the other vendors there, by the way.  A whole lotta talent in one spot.  Not to mention some dear friends were there: Commonwealth Rentals and D’art Photographie.  And also note, Sayuri of Sayuri’s World is the kindest lady I’ve ever met.  Conclusion: Success and good times.
All photos by James Fitzgerald III, Spoken For Promo poster by The Weaver House
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Spoken For

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spoken For at Made by Sohn.

meta

