Kinfolk Magazine Vol. 6

December 11, 2012 § 5 Comments

There is much to share and many words of thanksgiving that need to be uttered. Having my illustrations published in Kinfolk Vol. 6 is so much more than saying one of my career ambitions has been fulfilled.

To me, this project is evidence that God can do great works when we have faith in Him.  Never did I think in just five short months, I would already have published work in one of the most beautiful magazines of our generation.  Everyone who is close to me saw the wreck I was when I took the leap of faith to pursue calligraphy and illustration full time.   I look back and wonder why I had so much fear.  God promises that when we respond and obey His will, He will bless and take care of us, even in our career ambitions.  God says, “Never will I leave you, never will I forsake you.” (Deut 31:6).  Jesus tells us that we are much more valuable than the birds that he feeds (Matthew 6:26), so there is no need to worry.  He is so faithful and provides in such abundance!

The day before I quit my corporate day job, I got an email from Nathan Williams, the Founding Editor/Creative Director of Kinfolk Magazine.  He asked me to do a series of illustrations of evergreen trees.  The idea was for people to use the illustrations as a guide to identify the breed of Christmas tree they had in their home.   The result – a foraging guide.

Much of my inspiration came from old detailed scientific diagrams that were drawn, back before photographs were used.

Though this project was incredibly time consuming, I honestly enjoyed the amount of care and intent required.  The differences between one breed to the next are so slight, making each line very important.  The process was one that tested my patience, but brought the blessing of satisfaction at the conclusion.

Joy and Jay by Parker Fitzgerald

I also had the pleasure of being part of the product shoot with my fiance, James Fitzgerald III and my soon-to-be brother: none other than Parker Fitzgerald. Here are some of Parker’s images that are sure to get you in the Holiday spirit.Kinfolk_Vol6_Preview9

Much of this volume features Parker’s work.  It’s some of his best work yet (the man out does himself every time).  I especially love his shoot with Josh Garrels and little Shepherd.  Read about it here!  It’ll warm your heart.  Be sure to also see check out the work being done by other Kinfolk contributors.  Lots of serious talent in one place.

A heartfelt thanks to Kinfolk for letting me contribute and for being so lovely to work with.  To my darling loaf who helped me in more ways than I can count (I love you, Jam).  To Parks Barks for your photography, love, and support.  To my dear family and friends for your incredible encouragement.

Kinfolk Vol. 6 by Parker Fitzgerald

Most of all, glory to God for the work you’ve done in me.  You have brought me a long way.  You have showed me that you are indeed, trustworthy.  You have showed me the faith to live by and the fruit that comes from it.  Your way is truly the best way.  I praise you for your perfection and everlasting love!  May the work of my hands, the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord (Psalm 19:14).

All photos by Parker Fitzgerald ; Illustrations by Joy of MADE BY SOHN

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Kinfolk Magazine Vol. 6

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kinfolk Magazine Vol. 6 at Made by Sohn.

meta

