Kinfolk Volume 7

March 20, 2013 § 4 Comments

Joy of MADE BY SOHN with Kinfolk Magazine / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Kinfolk Volume Seven:  I really don’t need to tell you why it’s worth taking your time to get your hands on one.  The magazine always speaks for itself.   With this issue, I was incredibly blessed with working on three different stories.  It’s always a treat to see the fruits of your labor sharing the same space with fine works of the talented contributors.  And who can complain whilst drawing ice cream, crabs, and writing out script?  I certainly cannot.   As always, thank you Nathan and Katie Williams for believing in my work.Kinfolk Vol 7 Calligraphy by Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Kinfolk Vol 7 Illustrations by Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Kinfolk Vol 7 Illustrations by Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Kinfolk Vol 7 Illustrations by Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Kinfolk Vol 7 Illustrations by Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

As I flip through the pages of Vol. 7, I’m reminded of how much there is to look forward to this spring.   Portland spring brings upon such needed refreshment.  Oh and trust me, I’m basking in it every chance I get.  Though spring comes every year like clockwork, I am still taken aback.  I’m still mesmerized by the blooming buds on my afternoon strolls, by the songs of creatures that take flight, and remembering the sun DOES exist (this is surprising for us Vit D deficient Pacific Northwesterners).  Being surrounded by so much new life reminds me of the beauty of the Lord’s new mercies every morning.

Kinfolk Vol 7 / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Joy of MADE BY SOHN by James Fitzgerald III

Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Spring is especially significant, as it marks the season that I prepare to be a bride.  In only one month now, my lips will utter marriage vows under God.  The profound mystery of being ONE with a certain James Francis Fitzgerald III will soon be a reality I will be able to experience first-hand.  Oh, and if you haven’t figured it out already, my lovely fiancé is the one that took the beautiful photos on this post.  Thanks, darling!

Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

All this to say is that I suspect I won’t be around these parts much until after our honeymoon.  Until then, I hope you will take some time to walk around and soak in the season, whatever that means for you.  And might I suggest that if you need some reading material, bring a Kinfolk along with you on your walk.

Joy of MADE BY SOHN / Photo by James Fitzgerald III

P.S.  This shot above was a joke, but I figured it was time that I embraced how solidly Asian I can be.  The Korean-ness seems to find its way out more each day (i.e. I eat salad with chopsticks instead of a fork.  It’s the way to go, people.  Try it!).
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Kinfolk Volume 7

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kinfolk Volume 7 at Made by Sohn.

meta

