Palm Desert Sunset

May 21, 2013 § 2 Comments

“An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.”

– G.K Chesterton

I can’t tell you how many times Jay and I have stopped to take photos off the side of the road.  Sometimes we force ourselves to stay in the car, continue towards the destination, and make a conscious choice to keep the camera under wraps.  But this evening was not one of those times.   We drove past this desert scene, which sparked a conversation that went something like this:

Jay, look how beautiful it is out the window right now!

Whoa.  Should we stop? 

We might be late for dinner.

Hm. I’m turning around.

I’ve found that it can be totally worth changing course to experience something you weren’t necessarily planning.  This can often mean letting go of your own meticulous plans, the anxieties in straying from them, and letting God guide the rest.   I’m definitely not condoning a life of wandering nor neglecting responsibilities.  But I do encourage taking time to see beyond your agenda, even when it might be inconvenient (something I am still learning to do).  I often get so involved in my own mission that I pass on the amazing things the Lord has for me – blessing, fruit, an opportunity to serve or create a memory.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to miss out on even the smallest of blessings in any form – like marveling at the desert sunset with my husband.

Whatever this means for you in this season, I pray that you’ll be able to perhaps change your view on the next inconvenience and see it as an adventure instead.

Mark 10:46-49

Photo 1 by James Fitzgerald III, Photo 2 by Joy Sunyoung Fitzgerald of MADE BY SOHN

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Palm Desert Sunset

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Palm Desert Sunset at Made by Sohn.

meta

