Freshen Up

June 28, 2013 § 1 Comment

A Kinfolk Workshop       

I have an odd obsession with the way my household products smell.  I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t sometimes clean just so I could smell the scents of ‘fresh.’  When I found out that the Kinfolk workshop, “Freshen Up” was going to consist of making natural household products, I was in.

Scents of jasmine, rosemary, lemongrass, peppermint, and lavender filled the Kinfolk space, and it was scent heaven.  So fresh and so clean, clean.

While my main medium is a pen nib and a bottle of ink, I often find myself experimenting with paintbrushes.  It has recently become an imperative part of my business when projects require working on larger canvases.   This was one of those times.  The tools for my contribution: butcher paper, paintbrush, & a small bottle of acrylic paint mixed with water.  Simple, easy, and good lookin’.

The workshop was a great success.  Julie Pointer (Kinfolk Features Editor + Gatherings) and Jen Vitale hosted and styled the event.  To no one’s surprise, they delivered above and beyond.   It was a pleasure spending the morning chatting, working, and preparing with them both.

And oh yes, how can I forget?  The fruits of my labor – my cleaning supplies!  All of which are still being happily used.

P.S.  If you’d like to take part in the next Kinfolk workshop in your area, click here.

All photos by James Fitzgerald III

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Freshen Up

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Freshen Up at Made by Sohn.

meta

